Sometimes have to re-enter password

Support requests about VPN Client Pro
Post Reply
Edwinek
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 8:24 am

Sometimes have to re-enter password

Post by Edwinek »

Hi,

Even though I've entered my password before, and checked the remember box, I sometimes have to re-enter the password in order to connect to my VPN. This happens at unpredictable moments, I haven't discovered any pattern.

I'm using NordVPN, with 4 of their servers configured in my profile.

Any idea what could be the cause of this?

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 592
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Sometimes have to re-enter password

Post by admin »

Hi,

this happen when the remote server doesn't accept the authentication data and reply with a authentication failure message.
On the client side you can try to force the client to resend the authentication data.

Here the steps:
  • edit the VPN profile
  • tap on "Authentication"
  • select "Set retries before request new password" and set the value to 2 or 3
  • save the changes

Edwinek
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 8:24 am

Re: Sometimes have to re-enter password

Post by Edwinek »

Thanks, I've set this option to 5 now, hope it helps.

PS. For anyone else who wants to try this: it's not under 'options', it's under 'authentication' (at least in my version 1.00.23)

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 592
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Sometimes have to re-enter password

Post by admin »

You're right.
I just correct the error in my previous post.
Thank you!

Edwinek
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 8:24 am

Re: Sometimes have to re-enter password

Post by Edwinek »

It doesn't happen as often now, but I was forced to increase the number of retries even more to get rid of the problem.

But now the notification is gone, so thanks for this solution.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 592
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Sometimes have to re-enter password

Post by admin »

you're welcome

Post Reply