Restore Backup does not work

Support requests about VPN Client Pro
Post Reply
anliker@gmx.net
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2020 7:02 pm

Restore Backup does not work

Post by anliker@gmx.net »

Hi

I bought a new phone and wanted to transfer my VPN Client Pro settings from my old one. So I created a backup and tried to restore it on the new phone. Unfortunately, it's not possible to open the backup file, I can browse the folders but I don't see the file...

Best regards
Joerg

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 615
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Restore Backup does not work

Post by admin »

When you restore the backup, the file browser show only the files that with ".bak" extension.
Are you sure that the copied file ends with ".bak"?

anliker@gmx.net
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2020 7:02 pm

Re: Restore Backup does not work

Post by anliker@gmx.net »

Hi

you are right. I was puzzled because I could see no files at all, I did not realize that you filter the files for .bak. Restore went just fine.

Many thanks and best regards
Joerg

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 615
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Restore Backup does not work

Post by admin »

Very well. Thank you for the feedback.

ThePhantom79
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2020 8:43 am

Re: Restore Backup does not work

Post by ThePhantom79 »

Hello,
unfortunately for me this does not work.
Also I want to transfer config to my new phone. Backupfile has extension .bak, and I transferd it to new phone. I can doublecheck with file explorer, that backupfile is in right place (downloads in my case) and has correct extension. But new VPN Client do not recognize backup file.
If I create backup with new phone (empty configuartion, just for testing), then VPN Client can see backup file - the other from old phone stillt is not seen by the app.
What can I do?

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 615
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Restore Backup does not work

Post by admin »

Please, try to follow these steps:
  • start the app
  • tap on top left icon
  • tap on "Global options" button
  • tap on "App options"
  • select "Use Android's file browser
  • save the changes

ThePhantom79
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2020 8:43 am

Re: Restore Backup does not work

Post by ThePhantom79 »

Thanks, with this option the restore works ...
But now I have different issue, but I will use another thread for it (SSID-unknown - location permission allready give)

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 615
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Restore Backup does not work

Post by admin »

Please follow the discussion on this topic: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=855

Post Reply