SoftEther Not Routing

Support requests about VPN Client Pro
Post Reply
davidthegeek
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2021 12:29 am

SoftEther Not Routing

Post by davidthegeek »

I've installed the app on two Android devices and whilst I can connect successfully, nothing else is possible. So, for example, I cannot browse to myip.id to check where I am. It is shown as unreachable. I cannot reach "local" devices on the remote network to which I am connected.

SoftEther works fine on a desktop and myip.id correctly shows the server location. Devices are reachable.

Is there some other setting I must adjust?
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 847
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:04 pm
Contact:

Re: SoftEther Not Routing

Post by admin »

Please, can you post the VPN log?
davidthegeek
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2021 12:29 am

Re: SoftEther Not Routing

Post by davidthegeek »

Here it is:

2021-12-12 11:38:47 VpnClientPro-google-api27-release-1.00.94 (23010094)
2021-12-12 11:38:47 Connecting request by user
2021-12-12 11:38:47 OpenSSL 1.1.1l 24 Aug 2021
2021-12-12 11:38:47 Connecting to xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:xxx
2021-12-12 11:38:47 Set TLS SNI extension to "xxx.xxx.xxx"
2021-12-12 11:38:47 Sending client signature
2021-12-12 11:38:47 WARNING! server certificate CN "xxx.xxx.xxx" doesn't match host name "xxx.xxx.xxx"
2021-12-12 11:38:47 TLSv1.2 connection established with cipher AES128-SHA
2021-12-12 11:38:47 Sending client authentication
2021-12-12 11:38:48 DHCP client started
2021-12-12 11:38:48 Connected
2021-12-12 11:38:49 set DHCP server "192.168.1.1"
2021-12-12 11:38:49 set lease time "7200"
2021-12-12 11:38:49 add address "192.168.1.222/24"
2021-12-12 11:38:49 add route "0.0.0.0/1 via 192.168.1.1"
2021-12-12 11:38:49 add route "128.0.0.0/1 via 192.168.1.1"
2021-12-12 11:38:49 add dns "192.168.1.1"
2021-12-12 11:38:49 add search domain "xxx.xxx"
2021-12-12 11:38:49 DHCP client completed
2021-12-12 11:38:49 TapEmulator started
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 847
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:04 pm
Contact:

Re: SoftEther Not Routing

Post by admin »

From the log all seems correct.
Maybe the VPN subnet overlap the local network.
Please, try to follow these steps:
  • edit the VPN profile
  • tap on "IPv4 routes
  • unselect the option "Don't route the local network"
  • save the changes
P.S.
I stripped the sensitive informations from your log
davidthegeek
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2021 12:29 am

Re: SoftEther Not Routing

Post by davidthegeek »

That's OK, but I need to access a server on the remote network with an address in the 192.168.1.* range, so I need "local" traffic to be routed, like it would be/is on the desktop based client (which can access the server).

PS Thank you for editing, and for responding on a Sunday!
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 847
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:04 pm
Contact:

Re: SoftEther Not Routing

Post by admin »

You're welcome.
If you unselect the option "Don't route the local network" then all packets will be routed through the VPN.
If you need to reach some hosts also on the local network, you can add them manually as excluded routes in the "IPv4 routes" section...
davidthegeek
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2021 12:29 am

Re: SoftEther Not Routing

Post by davidthegeek »

So now I can connect to the host, but every time the server dishes up a some data, I get the message "Unfortunately, VPN Pro has stopped" before it has finished.
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 847
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:04 pm
Contact:

Re: SoftEther Not Routing

Post by admin »

Please, remove the app, reboot the device and install it again from Google Play.
davidthegeek
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2021 12:29 am

Re: SoftEther Not Routing

Post by davidthegeek »

Same result, I'm afraid.
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 847
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2019 4:04 pm
Contact:

Re: SoftEther Not Routing

Post by admin »

This is very strange.
The SoftEther server also supports SSTP protocol.
Please, can you try to do the same things with a SSTP VPN profile (with the same routing options) and give me the result?
Post Reply